What to Do with This Thirty Minutes?

Oh, I had a million things I could do, catch up on work, dirty dishes, sweep, pay bills, you know where I am going with this.  And, there are many days that I do this.  The kids were upstairs, content, no squabbles, no he did this, she did that, no tears, no screams of horror that need saving from mommy.  Everything pointed toward relaxation time, a time that comes sparingly.  Instead, a wild idea enters my thoughts to play with my three glued to the tv–hence the quietness–kiddos. Leaving the computer, thinking it is so very quiet, what am I doing, I enter the room.  “Do you want to play a game?”  They looked at me as if the Mom they knew had been captured by a magical creature (clarification, we do play games and this was not the first ever suggestion of playing games). They asked, “What game?” “You guys choose,” I said.  We cleared some room so we could play Dizios. I played working to block out the things to do all around me.  Many times I sit down to play and end up in my own game of pick up (better known as cleaning).  Not today, today my full attention was with my kids.  We played 30 minutes or somewhere around that time frame. Those 30 minutes could have been used to tackle many other things though I would not have ever had the moment–those 30 minutes of time with my kids.

Have you ever had an experience like this?

Leave a Reply

