The Sequel to Our First Wresting Match

William seemed so uncomfortable when he was born!  He seemed so scared! We couldn’t get through a diaper change without him screaming his head off.  It was terrible.  He had such a hard time sleeping all the time and I remember being up with him and he wouldn’t calm down.  I didn’t understand, I didn’t know what was wrong with him.  My first baby, and I didn’t know what to do! So, on my re-found love for reading, I continued reading. After Happiest Toddler on the Block,  I read the book Happiest Baby on the Block.  This one would have been really helpful for my first kiddo!  But, it worked like a charm for my second and my third children.  In fact, my third starts his shhhh,’s when it is time for him to go to sleep.  In the book Happiest Baby on the Block, Harvey Karp, M.D. talks about ways to calm a crying baby and help them sleep longer.  He talks about the 5 “S’s.”  Swaddling, Side, Shhhh, Swinging and Sucking.  The five S’s are there to create a resemblance to the womb.  Dr. Karp suggests that the first three months a baby is out of the womb in the world is more like a fourth trimester.  Baby is getting used to everything happening around them. The five S’s combined increase the likelihood of a happier baby.

Personally, I was skeptical at first though I tried the 5 S’s and it settled each of my babies (with the exception of William because I hadn’t read it yet of course).  I recommend this book to all parents, especially those who are looking to calm and relax their new crying, uncomfortable baby.

thb_book_excerpts

Have you read this book?  What do you think? Leave me a comment!

 

Leave a Reply

