Spontaneity

Today we did another fun summer activity, we went on a picnic.  It was spontaneous!  A few things were left behind but we remember the things we needed.  We headed for Pineview Reservoir, near Ogden, UT.  My mom is in town from Chicago and she enjoys scenic rides.  The pineview ride was one that I remembered and a bonus was that there is a beach so the kids could swim.  Oh, I need to start remembering to take pictures!  I will be better at that.  It was a hot day today and after all the sunscreen lathering and item collecting, we headed down to the beach.  Oh boy, the sand was scorching hot! I don’t think I have felt sand like that ever.  We finally made it down to the water.  The water was warm! It was great.  I watched the kids as they played and enjoyed seeing them splash, jump, swim in the water.  The landscape is beautiful.  A lake surrounded by mountains.  I love the mountains, it is one reason I was convinced to live in Utah.  Though, it is still a toss up between the Lake Michigan shores in Chicago! We swam, we enjoyed the warm weather, the time away from out routine of things.  We had our picnic and it was great to be together.  Many times it is so hard to get out the door, prepare and get going, but it is so great once we are on the road.  I am thankful spontaneity worked out today!

Leave a Reply

