Different Ways of Seeing the Same Thing

eskimoI had been waiting for a good moment to introduce the seeing things from a different perspective concept to my kids.  Found it today.  William and Isabella were fighting and as an adult I realize that kid fighting is mostly a lack of knowing that we can all see things differently.  Doesn’t mean that one is wrong and one is right, just that we can have different opinions.  This happens quite a bit and now I have a method to help it resolve or at least give them a thinking opportunity. I found a bag that looks kind of fun and picked up some sunglasses, silly glasses, reading glasses, goggles from the dollar store.  I also included the well known picture of the Indian/Eskimo (sorry if I gave it away), depending on which way you look at it.  I asked the kids to look at the picture.  They didn’t quite get it and then I pointed it out.  I explained to them that a lot of times when they think the other person is not being nice (or fighting) happens because we are seeing things in different ways.  It doesn’t mean the other is necessarily wrong, just that’s the way that person sees it.  So, if you want to try it, go for it.  Let me know how it works for you! Or, what you think.

Contents:

Bag

Indian/Eskimo pictures (one of just the Indian, the other where you can see the Indian and Eskimo)

Glasses

Like My Humorous Mommy Life on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/MyHumorousMommyLife

Leave a Reply

