Lesson Learned

I can’t remember if it came before or after the food allergies, but I remember a really bad day with William. He kept hitting things and he was banging the TV.  It didn’t just happen once, it happened several times.  I was determined no to let him get away with it. I needed to let him know I was in charge.  And, he needed to listen.  As discipline, I used time out.  I looked down into his little face and said “no,”  off to time out he went.  He cried and cried.  I thought he would have relaxed a little and be ready to come back out.  I don’t remember the exact events but I do remember that we were going into William’s pediatrician for a routine visit.  When we got there, his pediatrician did the regular visit checklist, took a look in his ears, a double ear infection.  I started crying in the Dr.’s office.  His pediatrician asked what was wrong, I told him of the happenings of the prior day, I had put him in time out.  I learned a lesson that day.  Sometimes, kiddos act out when they aren’t feeling good.  Granted that is not the case in every circumstance, but if the child is not behaving his normal self, there is a strong possibility that something might be going on.  Those pesky ear infections.

Leave a Reply

